The consequences of underage drunk driving can be devastating. To combat this problem, Maryland has implemented zero-tolerance laws.
These laws are specifically designed to address the issue of underage drunk driving by imposing strict penalties for any detectable amount of alcohol in the blood of drivers under the legal drinking age. Keep scrolling to learn what zero-tolerance laws are and why they were passed into law.
What are zero-tolerance laws?
The primary objective of zero-tolerance laws is to deter underage individuals from getting behind the wheel after consuming alcohol. In fact, all drivers under 21 years have a restriction on their license, prohibiting them from driving while even slightly impaired with alcohol. The hope is that by implementing these laws, young drivers may be dissuaded from engaging in such risky behavior altogether.
And while the legal BAC limit for adult drivers is typically set at 0.08%, the zero-tolerance policy dictates that a person under the age of 21 can lose their license with a BAC of 0.02 percent unless they submit to ignition interlock.
The legal consequences of underage drunk driving
The legal penalties for underage drunk driving in Maryland may include at least a $500 fine and possibly two months in jail. These consequences are intended to send a strong message and discourage young drivers from breaking the law.
But, ultimately, a young person’s mistake shouldn’t be allowed to change the trajectory of their whole future because. More often than not, underage drunk driving was a mistake made out of immaturity. Helping your child explore their criminal defense options is the best way to minimize the consequences and make sure that their educational and employment prospects aren’t negatively affected.