Helping Clients With
Personal Injury, Criminal Law, Traffic Violations, and Family Law & Divorce
Personal Injury
Criminal Law
Traffic Violations
Family Law & Divorce

Fighting against DUI and DWI charges in Maryland

| Nov 24, 2015 | Drunk Driving

In our recent blog post, we discussed how you can avoid a drunk driving arrest during the holiday season. The advice that we offered is good advice if you aren’t already facing charges, but what if you are facing criminal charges for driving drunk? If you are facing a DWI or DUI, we can help you explore your options for a defense.

One important factor that affects your case is what charge you are facing. While some people use DUI and DWI interchangeably, they are two separate and very different charges in Maryland.

A DUI, or driving under the influence, is the more serious crime, which means that you had a blood alcohol concentration of .08 percent or greater when you were given a chemical test. If you had a lesser amount of alcohol in your system, you might be charged with a DWI, or driving while intoxicated. Generally, your BAC must be between .04 and .08 percent and other signs of impairment must be present for you to face a DWI charge.

When you find out what your charge is, you must start to work on your defense. You might also decide that you need to fight the effects that the arrest has on your license. If you are arrested for having a BAC of .08 percent or if you don’t take the chemical test when it is requested, your driver’s license will be suspended. At the time of your arrest, you will have to turn over your license. You will be issued a temporary license that is only good for 45 days.

We understand that the thought of losing your driving privileges is frightening. We can help you learn about the options that might allow you to continue driving, but you only have 30 days to request a hearing. That means that you should take action right away so we have time to help you explore the options you have.