Domestic violence laws in Maryland are very strict. These laws can have a profound impact on anyone who is charged with them. In some cases, the effects of the domestic violence charges begin even before you are convicted. With that in mind, it is vital for anyone who is facing domestic violence charges to get to work protecting their reputation and building their defense against the charges.
How do protection orders affect a person facing domestic violence charges?
A protection order or peace order can stop you from being around the person who you allegedly abused. If you violate that order, you can be arrested without a warrant. A conviction for violating a protection order or peace order can lead to up to 90 days in jail and a fine on a first offense and up to a year in jail for subsequent offenses.
What are some of the charges a person can face because of domestic violence?
Domestic violence charges can lead to stalking, false imprisonment, assault, or sex-related charges. Each of these charges has specific penalties associated with it. Stalking can lead to 5 years in prison. False imprisonment is a common law misdemeanor that doesn’t have a maximum sentence. Assault can lead to up to 25 years in prison. Sex-related crimes have a vast array of sentence options. Some can lead to up to life in prison.
Being accused of domestic violence is a frightening and frustrating event. Instead of waiting to see what happens with your case, you should take a proactive approach by starting to look at defense options immediately.
Source: FindLaw, “Maryland Domestic Violence Laws,” accessed Sep. 27, 2015