Personal Injury, Criminal Law, Traffic Violations, and Family Law & Divorce

What should you expect from a second DUI conviction in Maryland?

On Behalf of | Feb 20, 2023 | Drunk Driving

If the worst has happened and you’ve found yourself pulled over by the police for driving while under the influence, it can feel like the end of the world. You’ll have a hundred questions and thoughts going through your head about what’s coming next and how this is going to affect you.

A conviction for DUI in Maryland can have far-reaching consequences. It can impact your relationship with friends and family, your career and your liberty. It’s important to know what possible penalties you may be facing.

Penalties for a second DUI offense

A second DUI offense carries a possible punishment of up to two years in jail and $2,000 in fines. A mandatory minimum of five days in jail will apply, and the amount of time ordered by the court will depend on the severity of the offense.

If there was a minor passenger in the car at the time, this increases to a maximum fine of $3,000 and three years in jail, as the court will see this as an aggravating factor.

The court will also order you to take part in a drug and alcohol assessment and complete any recommended treatment program. Any time spent in a program can usually be deducted from the jail time ordered.

As for your driving license, a second DUI conviction will result in a one-year suspension, and if it’s your second offense within five years, you’ll be required to complete the ignition interlock program.

There are options available to you in challenging the charge and putting forward a defense. Given the severity of the penalties involved, it’s important to have some legal assistance with navigating the process.