Helping Clients With
Personal Injury, Criminal Law, Traffic Violations, and Family Law & Divorce
Personal Injury
Criminal Law
Traffic Violations
Family Law & Divorce

DUI charges can ruin your holidays if you don’t take precautions

| Dec 18, 2014 | Drunk Driving

Before you head out to a party or family gathering where alcohol will be served, you should take a few minutes to think about how you will get home. By preparing ahead of time, you might save yourself from having to deal with the criminal justice system. The last thing most people want to deal with over the holiday season is seeing the flashing lights of law enforcement behind them, especially when the driver has been drinking and will likely end up in jail.

Maryland has very strict laws when it comes to drinking and driving. Drivers who are 21 years old or older can face DWI charges for a blood alcohol content percentage of .07 percent. A DUI charge is reserved for people who have a BAC of .08 percent or higher.

Don’t think that you can get out of the charges by refusing to take the breath test. In Maryland, refusing to take a test for intoxication can have very serious consequences, including an automatic revocation of your license. In fact, refusing to take a test might lead to a DUI conviction that includes a two-month jail sentence and up to $500 more in fines.

If something happens and you find yourself facing drunk driving charges, you are facing time in jail, fines and a license suspension. This can affect every aspect of your life. For that reason, it is imperative that you learn about your rights to present a defense against the charge. Seeking answers to your questions might help you to decide what to do.

Source: Maryland Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Administration, “Impaired Driving Prevention” Dec. 16, 2014