Helping Clients With
Personal Injury, Criminal Law, Traffic Violations, and Family Law & Divorce
Personal Injury
Criminal Law
Traffic Violations
Family Law & Divorce

Alcohol test refusal can lead to penalties in Maryland

| Dec 26, 2014 | Drunk Driving

With the holiday season upon us, parties and other social events will occur. After these events, partygoers will have to get home or to a destination where they can sleep off the alcohol. As most of our readers know, driving after drinking alcohol is illegal in Maryland. Contrary to what some people believe, you can’t just refuse to take tests for alcohol impairment in order to avoid a ticket. Failing to take alcohol tests can result in very serious consequences.

If you refuse to take the test, your driver’s license will be taken. In its place, you will get a paper license that is temporary. The temporary paper license lasts 45 days. Unless you request a hearing in accordance with the paperwork you receive when you were stopped, your license will be suspended on the 46th day after the date listed on the Order of Suspension and on the Officer’s Certification.

The amount of time your drivers’ license is suspended is 120 days if this is the first time you refused to take an alcohol test. If it is your second time or more, the suspension is 180 days. There can also be additional time that it will be suspended based on if you have other alcohol related charges.

With these lengthy suspensions in mind, it is easy to see why people who are facing drunk driving accusations have to think about their actions. Both submitting to the test and refusing it can have significant consequences if you have been drinking. Exploring your rights ahead of time can help you to make an informed choice. If you are already facing charges, seeking legal assistance is vital to ensure your rights are protected.

Source: Maryland Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Administration, “Alcohol Test Failure or Refusal” Dec. 23, 2014